Brampton Springdale MP Parm Gill Presents Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medals to 27 Community Leaders

Brampton Springdale MP Parm Gill Presents Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medals to 27 Community Leaders

Member of Parliament Parm Gill participated in a ceremony at the Grand Victorian Convention Centre on November 25th to present Diamond Jubilee Medals to 27 area residents who have made outstanding contributions to their communities and country.

“It is a great pleasure to pay tribute today to individuals who have gone above and beyond to serve their communities,” said MP Gill. “These medals, which commemorate the extraordinary service of Her Majesty, The Queen to Canada, are a fitting tribute to those who have given so much of themselves to their fellow citizens.”

Recipients of the Diamond Jubilee Medal included Peel Police Chief Jennifer Evans, retired Toronto Firefighter & community activist Winston Mapp and George Chiu, successful restaurateur and philanthropist. The individuals chosen come from a wide range of pursuits, in both the public and private sectors. They were chosen from thousands of nominees nationwide for their tireless dedication to service towards their fellow citizens, the community, and our nation.

The Diamond Jubilee Medal was created in honour of the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s accession to the Throne. The medal recognizes Canadians from all walks of life who have made significant contributions to Canada or whose achievements abroad have brought credit to Canada. A total of 60,000 Diamond Jubilee Medals are to be given to Canadians throughout the year.

Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal Recipients

  • Mayor Susan Fennell
  • Peel Police Chief Jennifer Evans
  • Dr. Kathleen Jean Armitage
  • George Chiu
  • Michael Gagnon
  • Yudhvir Jaswal
  • Gurdev Singh Gill
  • Jagdish Grewal
  • His Worship Bobby Hundal
  • Rakesh Mohan Joshi
  • Ashwani Kanda
  • Justice Nancy S. Kastner
  • Tenzin Khangsar
  • Iqbal Mahal
  • Dr. Verinder Malhotra
  • Winston Mapp
  • Nirmal Brar
  • Ravinder Singh Pannu
  • William Robert Pesant
  • Bridge Ramdewar
  • Kuldip Rai Sahi
  • Gursharan Bobby Sidhu
  • Param Sidhu
  • Anu Srivastava
  • Bhajan Thind
  • Jayarajan Palat-Chirakkara-Veetil
  • Gayle Wilding